Thursday, February 25, 2010

The 120lb dilemma . . (spoilers?)

    So I recently watched Legion, and it was a pretty good movie. Not the best thing ever made but it was watchable in my opinion. There was one scene in that movie that made me laugh so hard that I almost peed my pants.
     There was a scene, without giving too much away, where a couple of hours before this scene one of the side character's husband was pulled out of the window, to be lost to the horde of Angels outside. She was upset, naturally, and was inconsolable. Next scene it showed everyone sleeping and, as these things happen, the widowed wife was awakened by a slight call that only she heard, with wife hearing maybe.
     She gets out of her makeshift bed, as they are all in a diner for the whole movie, and goes to a back room. When she looks out of the window above the door, that they nailed wood in front of and slid a desk in front of to keep the baddies out, she sees her husband and, gasp, he is ALIVE! (cue angels singing haha)
     Well of course, even though Micheal told her he is lost, she is overcome with joy and starts to take the things from the door to go outside to get to her man! Well in this process one of the other male 200+ pound characters wakes up to her loud wood removing, and tries to tell her that that is the wrong thing to do, as the things outside are trying to kill them all, and opening the door might be a bad idea.
     Not hearing any of this, gasp, she begins to almost get the door open and the man decides he has to save them all to stop this poor, psychotic, grief-stricken women from dooming them all. So he steps in to stop her, and she tosses her aside like a sack of potatoes.
     Not just pushed back, but this woman slams him to the wall with such force that he is dazed and looks like he might be knocked unconscious from her shoulder block of doom. The women continues on and removes all the things and is about to open the door when another, 200+ pound man comes in from all the commotion and sees what is going on, assesses the situation, and grabs the women with both arms in a reverse bear-hug, seeing the obvious weak man dazed on the ground.
     Again the women sheds him like a light jacket, and tosses him back. The women then opens the door and runs to her husband, in the process getting someone killed, like we were all shocked at that happening.
     Now this is what made me laugh. Why is it in movies, NO ONE, and I mean NO ONE, can ever stop the crazed 120lb woman that is trying to get to whatever the bad thing has done in an effort to save whoever. When that woman sets her mind to it, not even Chuck Norris, Steven Segal, and Jet Li could stop them.
     I know we are suppose to think maybe she is just running on pure adrenaline and has the care lifting strength at that moment but come on people. No one can stop these crazed women? I mean it seems that these women can't run for crap when it comes to getting away from the bad things, but come hell or high water, they WILL toss aside things to doom everyone to get to that object of desire.
     The remake of Dawn of the Dead sort of had a scene like that except the idiot in that movie jumped in a truck and tore ass across the parking lot of zombies for her dog. Then refused to come back when she got the damn dog, because she was scared.
     I do not understand these scenes. I mean obviously they drive the plot forward or set up the next death for another character trying to save their dumb asses, but they just make me laugh. Now to be fair women are not the only ones doing this in movies. Men have done it too.
    It just seems the parts with the women are more ridiculous because not 10 minutes before they were calm, collective, and cool people that knew badness was upon them and they had to do whatever it took to survive.
     My favorite of all these comes in a video game, Dead Rising. I know this is just a game but this is funny. This time it involves a 70+ year old lady trying to find her dog. The whole first scene is nothing but her looking for it, as the rest of the people have barricaded themselves in a mall, Dawn of the Dead style. When this grandma finally see's her dog it is outside, so immedately she starts to open the barricade to get to her dog. About three people try to stop her, she throws them off. Two people try to hold the doors closed while she opens it. In the end the zombies get in the mall and she gets eaten.
    Here is a link to that video. About the 4:40 mark is when it happens. I laughed so hard when I first saw that. NO ONE can stop this woman. Women power is deep and scary. Fear them when they are scared or want something, but not when they run. They just trip and fall and hold everyone up then.

1 comment: